Contact Us

Mailing Address Business Hours Department Head
1000 Commonwealth Ave.
Basement Level, Room B10 &
Room 202, 2nd Floor
Newton MA, 02459
617-796-1120
617-796-1086 Fax
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday 8:30am – 5:00pm
Tuesday 8:30am - 8:00pm (5:00-8:00 - 2nd Floor Office)

Barney Heath

Director

bheath@newtonma.gov

 

Staff Listed Alphabetically

*= office is located on 2nd Floor, Room 202

Janet Antonellis
Administrative Assistant
Ext. 1136
jant@newtonma.gov
Customer Service, Office Support
Danielle Bailey
Grants Manager
Ext.1156
dbailey@newtonma.gov
Financial management and oversight of all the federal grant programs
Amanda Berman
Housing Development Planner
Ext.1147
aberman@newtonma.gov
Valerie Birmingham*
Planning Associate
Ext. 1132

vbirmingham@newtonma.gov

Current Planning

 

Rachel Blatt

Long Range Planner

Ext. 1127

rblatt@newtonma.gov

Current and Long Range Planning, Zoning Reform

 Jennifer Caira*
Chief Planner

Ext.  1121
jcaira@newtonma.gov

Development Review: Special Permits, Comprehensive Permits, Administrative Site Plan Review, Accessory Apartments

           

 

Neil Cronin*

Senior Planner

Ext. 1141

ncronin@newtonma.gov

Development Review

Special Permits, Accessory Apartments, Administrative Site Plan Review


Doug Desmarias

Housing Rehabilitation/

Construction Manager

Ext. 1148

ddesmarais@newtonma.gov

Construction Supervision of Housing Projects, Lead Paint Inspections, Construction Supervision of Rehab Projects

 

 

Kathryn Ellis

Economic Development Director
Ext. 1122

kellis@newtonma.gov

(Vernon St., Newton Corner)

 

Promotion of business development in Newton, Newton Business Council, Economic Development Commission, Women’s Enterprise Initiative, City's business liaison for new and existing businesses including Newton Innovation Center (NIC), N2 Corridor and Charles River Mill District.

James Freas

Deputy Director of Planning & Development

Ext. 1137

jfreas@newtonma.gov

Current and Long Range Planning

 

Michael Gleba*
Senior Planner
Ext. 1123       

mgleba@newtonma.gov
Development Review: Special Permirts, Accessory Apartments, Administrative Site Plan Review

Katy Hax Holmes *
Senior Planner
Ext 1143
kholmes@newtonma.gov

Newton Historical Commission, Demolition Review, National Register Nominations, Local Landmarks, Survey and Planning Grants, Historic Preservation, Special Projects, Institutional Reviews

Adrianna Henriquez

Administrative Assistant/ZBA Clerk

Ext. 1133

ahenriquez@newtonma.gov

Zoning Board of Appeals/Admin to Economic Development Division

Alice Ingerson
CPA Program Manager
Ext. 1144
aingerson@newtonma.gov
Community Preservation Committee (CPC) - Funding Process, Proposals, Funded Projects
Barbara Kurze *
Senior Preservation Planner
Ext. 1129
bkurze@newtonma.gov
Local Historic District Commissions - Auburndale, Chestnut Hill, Newton Upper Falls, & Newtonville

Amanda Lipson

Community Development Planner
Ext. 1145
alipson@newtonma.gov

Neighborhood Improvement Projects, Architectural Access Projects

Malcom Lucas
Housing Planner
Ext. 1149 
mlucas@newtonma.gov
Housing Rehabilitation Program, First TIme Homebuyer Program, Tenant Based Rental Assistance Program (TBRA), Fair Housing Committee

Rachel Powers

Community Development Programs Manager
Ext. 1125

rpowers@newtonma.gov
Planning and Development Board, federal reporting, Annual Action Plan, Consolidated Annual Performance and Evaluation Report, CDBG Human Service Program, Emergency Shelter Grant Program

Lily Canan Reynolds

Community Engagement Manager

Ext. 1140         

lreynolds@newtonma.gov

 

Mary Walsh Rines
Accounts Specialist
Ext. 1135
mwalsh@newtonma.gov
Finance and Accounting for Federal/State Grants & City Budget

Jane Santosuosso *
Chief Zoning Code Official
Ext. 1128
jsantosuosso@newtonma.gov 
Zoning Reviews   

Shubee Sikka
Urban Designer
Ext. 1139
ssikka@newtonma.gov
Urban Design Commission, Zoning Reform  
Norine Silton
Executive Assistant / Supv. Development Services
Ext. 1138
nsilton@newtonma.gov
Admin to Director, Customer Service Supervisor, Environmental Science Program, Office Support
Jennifer Steel
Senior Environmental Planner
Ext. 1134
jsteel@newtonma.gov
Conservation Commission, Conservation Area Management, Wetlands/Floodplains Regulatory Enforcement

Elizabeth Valenta

HOME Program Manager
Ext. 1145
evalenta@newtonma.gov
WestMetro HOME Consortium

Heather Zaring*

Development Services Assistant

Ext. 1071

hzaring@newtonma.gov

Customer Services, Office Support

           


           

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

back to top