Newton, MA Logo for print

Conservation Commission

Mailing Address Office Hours Department Contact
Planning Department,
Basement Level                             
1000 Commonwealth Avenue
Newton, MA 02459

Monday to Friday
7:30am to 3:00pm

Jennifer Steel
(617) 796-1134 - Direct
(617) 796-1120
(617) 796-1142 -Fax

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held in Room 204 or 211 (varies depending on meeting date) 7:00 pm at City Hall. They occur every (3) weeks. Filing deadline is (3) Tuesdays prior to the meeting, at noon. Please click here for the 2016 meeting schedule.

Mission of the Newton Conservation Commission

As stated in MGL Ch. 40 Sec. 8C and the Newton Ordinance Article II, Section 22-19, the mission of the Newton Conservation Commission is four-fold:
1. The Conservation Commission shall undertake “the protection of watershed resources” of Newton. This is accomplished by implementing the state Wetlands Protection Act and Newton floodplain ordinance.
2. The Conservation Commission “shall conduct researches into its local land areas”. The Conservation Commission is a lead player in the development of the City’s Open Space and Recreation Plan
3. The Conservation Commission “may receive gifts … of personal property or interests in real property … in the name of the city or town” and “may acquire in the name of the city … restrictions, easements or other contractual rights … as may be necessary to acquire, maintain, improve, protect, limit the future use of or otherwise conserve and properly utilize open spaces in land and water areas within its city or town, and it shall manage and control the same.” The Conservation Commission acquires and manages parcels of open space.
4. The Conservation Commission shall undertake “the promotion and development of the natural resources” and “shall seek to co-ordinate the activities of unofficial bodies organized for similar purposes, and may advertise, prepare, print and distribute books, maps, charts, plans and pamphlets”. The Conservation Commission engages in education and advocacy to protect and promote Newton’s natural resources.

Conservation Commission Members

• Ira Wallach, Chairman
• Susan Lunin, Vice Chair
• Judith Hepburn, Clerk
• Daniel Green
• Norman Richardson
• Jane Sender
• Barbara Newman
• Jeff Zabel


Conservation Commission Rules and Regulations
Conservation Commission Duties, Terms, Etc...
Conservation Commission Act


Interactive Property Information Map
FEMA Map Service Center
An Introduction to the Newton Conservation Office (A PowerPoint Presentation)