Bill H.3932 legalized recreational marijuana for adults 21 year of age and older and created the Cannabis Control Commission which promulgated regulations in 2018. Visit the Commission’s website for answers to frequently asked questions about laws governing adult-use marijuana in Massachusetts.
Important things to know about adult-use marijuana (This is for informational purposes only. It is not legal advice):
- Only adults 21 and older can purchase and possess recreational marijuana.
- Adults 21 and older can have up to 1 oz of marijuana on their person and up to 10 oz in their home. If you have more than 1 oz of marijuana in your home, it must be locked up.
- Marijuana can only be bought and sold at state-licensed marijuana retailers.
- You can't use marijuana in any form (smoking, vaping, edibles, etc.) in public or on federal land.
- It is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana. You cannot drive with an open container of any form of marijuana in the passenger area of your car.
- Employers, landlords, cities, and towns may have their own policies about the use of marijuana. Check with them to see what is allowed.
Medical marijuana is a separate program overseen by the MA Department of Public Health.
Important things to know about medical marijuana:
- A Massachusetts resident 18 year of age or older who has been diagnosed by a certifying physician as having a debilitating medical condition may become a qualifying medical marijuana patient.
- Massachusetts residents under the age of 18 will only qualify under limited circumstances and with an elevated standard.
- Qualifying patients must obtain a registration card from the MA Department of Public Health in order to purchase medical marijuana.
- Medical marijuana can only be bought and sold at state-licensed dispensaries.