Mailing Address Office Hours Department Contact

Newton City Hall, Room 103
1000 Commonwealth Avenue
Newton Centre, MA 02459
(617) 796-1350
(617) 796-1214 Fax

Monday 8:30 am to 5:00 pm
Tuesday 8:30 am to 8:00 pm
Wednesday to Friday 8:30 am to 5:00 pm
(Specials hours on election days)
David Olson, City Clerk

Election Commission Members
Marjorie Ann Butler
John P. McDermott
Nancy M. Levine, Chair
Jan Huffman

See Unofficial Election Results After 8:00 pm here

Are You Ready to Vote

Upcoming Election Dates
State/Presidential General Election: 
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Polls Open 7:00 am to 8:00 pm

Is your Voter Registration Active?
Don't show up at the polls to find that your registration has become inactive.
Verify Your Voter Registration Status

Where Do I Vote?
Verify Your Precinct Here
Precinct Polling Locations Here

The following offices will be on the November 8 Ballot:
   President/Vice President of the United States
   Representative in Congress
   Governor's Councillor
   State Senator
   State Representative for the 10th, 11th or 12th Middlesex District
   Sheriff of Middlesex County

View My Ballot (ADA Compliant)
Click Here

Early Voting has Ended for the State/Presidential General Election

Early voting has come to Newton and will be available for the first time for the State/Presidential General Election on November 8, 2016.  Early voting is now the law in Massachusetts for State General Elections only. 

What is early voting?  For two weeks before a State General Election, voters will be able to cast their ballots.  This year, from October 24 through November 4, Newton voters will be able to cast a ballot for the November 8, 2016 at the following times and locations:

Newton City Hall - 1000 Commonwealth Avenue
Monday, October 24 through Thursday, October 27, 2016     8:30 am to 8:00 pm
Friday, October 28, 2016     8:30 am to 5:00 pm
Saturday, October 29, 2016     Noon to 5:00 pm
Sunday, October 30, 2016     Noon to 5:00 pm
Monday, October 31 through Thursday, November 3, 2016     8:30 am to 8:00 pm
Friday, November 4, 2016     8:30 am to 5:00 pm

Newton North High School - 457 Walnut Street
Saturday October 29 & Sunday, October 30, 2016     Noon to 5:00 pm

Newton South High School - 140 Brandeis Road
Saturday October 29 & Sunday, October 30, 2016     Noon to 5:00 pm

Coleman House - 677 Winchester Street
Monday, October 24, 2016     1:00pm to 4:00 pm

Lasell Village - 120 Seminary Avenue (limited parking)
Tuesday, October 25, 2016     10:00 am to Noon

Falls at Cordingly Dam - 2300 Washington Street
Tuesday, October 25, 2016     1:30 pm to 3:30 pm

Golda Meir House - 160 Stanton Avenue (limited parking)
Friday, October 28, 2016     1:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Evans Park - 430 Centre Street
Wednesday, November 2, 2016     9:00 am to Noon

Click Here for a printable Early Voting Schedule.

Once an early voter has marked their ballot, the voter’s ballot will be held at the City Clerk’s Office until Election Day and then be distributed to the appropriate polling location for counting. 

The advantage in early voting is that voters will be able to vote their ballot on an expanded schedule and not be limited to voting just on Election Day.

Flu Vaccinations available on select days during Early Voting. 
Coming to City Hall to Early Vote? Get a Flu Vaccination at the same time. Click Here for a complete schedule.

Absentee Ballots
Absentee Ballots for the November 8, 2016 State General Election will be available approximately 30 days before the election.
For more information, please click Here

How to Vote in Massachusetts
A YouTube video.  Click HERE

Ward 8, Precinct 2 Your Polling Location has Changed!
The polling location has moved from Memorial-Spaulding School to Temple Beth Avodah, 45 Puddingstone Lane.  To get there from Memorial-Spaulding:
   Head southwest on Brookline Street towards Oak Hill Street
   Turn Left on Oak Hill Street
   Turn left on Puddingstone Lane

Poll Workers Needed
Assist your community in the voting process.  If you are interested in working at the Polls, please call the City Clerk's Office 
at 617-796-1200 for an application and more information.

**The last day to Register to Vote to be able to vote in the November 8, 2016 Presidential/State General Election was Wednesday, October 19, 2016**

 Are you Registered to Vote?
Three easy ways to Register:

1. Register to Vote On-Line here

2. Download a Mail-in Voter Registration Form here.

      Formulario de Inscripción de Votante por Correo

3.  You may also register to vote at the City Clerk's Office in Newton City Hall.


Previous Elections

September 8, 2016 Election Results
Official Results of the Primaries click here
Write In Candidate La Cavita totals click here

March 1, 2016 Presidential Primary Results
Official Primary Election Results

Democrat Ward Committee Results

Ward 1 Ward 2 Ward 3
Ward 4 Ward 5 Ward 6
Ward 7 Ward 8  

Republican Ward Committee Results

Ward 1 Ward 2 Ward 3
Ward 4 Ward 5 Ward 6
Ward 7 Ward 8  

For Further information contact: Newton Election Commission at (617) 796-1200.


back to top