Charter Commission

** Please sign up for the Charter Commission email list via


**Current charter, City of Newton


**Our most recently updated meeting schedule is HERE.



To Our Fellow Stakeholders and Residents,

 We are all excited about the work we have undertaken reviewing Newton's charter.

As we continue to move forward, we will remain focused on our community’s shared interest in greater public participation in government and the effectiveness, responsiveness, and efficiency of our government. 

Many thanks to all of you who have attended our meetings, public hearings, and round tables, and to those who have contacted us to share your thoughts and insights.

For those of you who have been following our Article 2: Legislative Review, please CLICK HERE for an Article 2 Discussion Guide.

At the April 13th meeting, the Commission voted unanimously (straw vote) to recommend a 13 member City Council, with 1 member residing in each of the 8 wards to be elected at-large and 5 additional Councilors elected at large without a residency requirement.

On April 27, the Commission took two more straw votes (each passing 7 to 2) for:

1) Six two-year consecutive terms for City Councilors (term limits of twelve consecutive years. Those interested in extending service could campaign for re-election after a break in service.).

2) A scenario for term lengths that would maintain two-year terms for councilors and contests at each city election (no staggered elections).

On July 12, the Commissioners revisited the topic of term limits. Currently the straw vote reflects support for maintaining an 8 year term limit for School Committee, and adding a 12 year limit for City Councilors and for the Mayor. Again, those interested in extending service could campaign for re-election after their breaks in service.

Public Hearings

Thank you to the guests who joined us for a discussion about Article 9 on September 14:

1. Srdj Nedeljkovic - Newton Highlands Area Council
2. Anil Adyanthaya - Upper Falls Area Council
3. Sallee Lipshutz - Waban Area Council
4. Marc Kaufman - Newtonville Area Council
5. Terry Sauro - Nonantum Neighborhood Association
6. Councilor John Rice - City Council (Ward 5)

 Upcoming Review Meetings (Tentative Schedule)

  • November 16, 2016: Article 12: Recall, City Council Composition, City Council Compensation, Term Limits
  • November 30, 2016:Transition Provisions
  • December 7, 2016: Final Report Draft
  • December 14, 2016: Revisiting outstanding issues~Agenda TBA
The comprehensive meeting schedule can be found here.


Emails sent to will reach all members of the Commission.


Please visit our Facebook page:, follow us on Twitter~@NewtonMACharter, and keep apprised of our work and our schedule through this website.


The Newton Charter Commission
Josh Krintzman, Chair
Rhanna Kidwell,Vice Chair

Bryan Barash

Jane Frantz

Howard Haywood

Anne Larner

Brooke Lipsitt

Karen Manning

Chris Steele






back to top